My First Day

“Why jump straight to exposing yourself to strangers on the internet?”

Today was my first day as a professional webcam model.  If you had asked me ten years ago what I thought I would be doing when I was 25, this would not have been on the list.

I went to a good college, I graduated Magna Cum Laude, I went to graduate school, and I got my doctorate.  After I graduated, I was accepted into a year-long, post-graduate internship program on the other side of the country.  So I packed up my house and my pets and drove across the country, excited to start my professional career.

Now, I knew going into it that an intern’s salary is only about one third of what a professional in the field makes.  But it is great experience, offers a safety net for your first year out, and it gives me a year to figure out what direction I want to take my career.  I also knew that the state I chose to move to has a very high cost of living.  However, I did not anticipate that the combination of those things and the incredibly high income tax would have me looking at my first paycheck and realizing there was no way I could pay my bills.  My salary is barely enough to cover rent each month.

But, you might ask, why jump straight to exposing yourself to strangers on the internet?  Well, there are a lot of different factors that contributed to that decision.  The first, and probably most significant, is that, as an intern, I work 15-18 hours a day, six days a week.  That does not leave much time for another job, especially not one in the field in which I already work.  Not only does it not leave much time, but it means I need to have flexible work hours, because I never know what time I will get done at my regular job.  The second is that I wanted to spend the time I wasn’t working at home with my pets.  They are my children, and my work schedule is already really stressful for them.  The third is that I am sexually curious, and I felt that if I had to spend all of my free time working, I should at least do something I would hopefully enjoy.  And I thought, all of those years sending nude pictures to guys counts as experience, right?

So, here I am.  I worked for an hour and a half this morning before I had to go to my regular job.  I didn’t earn very much money, but at this point every little bit helps.  And if I work for a couple of hours every day, I should be able to make ends meet.

I’m hoping this blog will be a way to help me work through my feelings about the whole experience and maybe share an interesting story here or there. I’m telling myself right now that this is only going to be a year-long experience to get me through my internship.

Author: MaggieFlynn

I am an outdoorsy, animal loving, adventure seeking foodie just trying to make it in this crazy world like everyone else.

Leave a Reply

